SFMC Client Secret Rotation

Administrators must rotate OAuth 2.0 client secrets for their API integrations before they expire. Starting March 23, 2026, all client secrets are configured to expire every 180 days, with the first expiration date set for September 30, 2026.

Prerequisites

Before starting the rotation process, please ensure you have the appropriate access levels in both platforms:

  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud (SFMC): You must be an Administrator or the person who originally performed the connector integration to make changes to the Installed Packages.
  • indigitall Console: Your user account must have Admin permissions to edit active integrations.

Step 1: Generate the new secret in Staged status

  • 1.1 In SFMC, navigate to Setup → Platform Tools → Apps → Installed Packages. Select the package you wish to update.

  • 1.2 Once inside the selected package's page, locate the "Staged Secrets" section and click the "Generate" button.

  • 1.3 A modal will appear asking for a description of the new client secret (you can leave the default value). Click "Next".

  • 1.4 The new client secret will be created. Copy the newly created client secret immediately.

👀

IMPORTANT

Once this modal is closed, you will not be able to view or copy the secret again! You will need this copied value to update the SFMC integration within the indigitall console.

Step 2: Update the SFMC integration in the indigitall Console

  • 2.1 Log into the indigitall console and click on Configuration in the top right corner of the screen.

  • 2.2 Select the Integrations tab, find your SFMC integration, check the box on the left-hand side, and click the "Edit" button.

  • 2.3 Replace the old Client Secret with the new one you just copied from SFMC, and click the "Edit" button to save your changes.

Step 3: Activate the new secret in SFMC

  • 3.1 Go back to the SFMC page for the installed package you are updating and click the "Activate" button in the Staged Secrets section.

  • 3.2 A confirmation modal will open, asking you to confirm the activation of the new secret and the permanent deletion of the old one. Click "I understand" to complete the process.


Did this page help you?